Ten People Named To Order Of New Brunswick For Community Contributions

FREDERICTON — Ten people are being awarded the Order of New Brunswick for achievements that range from uniting an aboriginal community to protecting vulnerable citizens.

The recipients this year include Chief Patricia Bernard, from Madawaska Maliseet First Nation, for her work in bringing together the Wolastoqey Nation, while Leo Johnson, from Moncton, is being given the award for his “commitment to protecting vulnerable people in his community.”

Community volunteers Heliodore Cote, from Grand Falls, and Claire Wilt, from Bathurst, are being recognized, as is Michel Doucet, from Dieppe, a lawyer and promoter of language rights.

Lois Scott, from Shediac Cape, is being recognized for helping establish a provincewide telehealth service, while Robyn Tingley, from Rothesay, is receiving the designation due to her contributions to women’s equality.

Tingley, founder and CEO of GlassSky, works with major employers to support equity, diversity and inclusion strategies with a focus on women and young leaders.

She is also one of the founders of Women for 50%, a group of New Brunswick women leaders who joined together with the goal to increase female participation in the electoral process.

RELATED: Three Saint John Business Leaders Honoured At BMO Celebrating Women Event

In addition, Abraham Beverley Walker from Saint John is receiving a posthumous award as Canada’s first black lawyer admitted to the bar and for his commitment to civil rights.

James Wilson, from Quispamsis, is receiving the award for his work in establishing the Point Lepreau Bird Observatory and John Wood of Oromocto is being recognized for his fundraising for muscular dystrophy.

The names were announced today as part of New Brunswick Day celebrations.

The award is the province’s highest civilian honour and the investiture ceremony will be held at Government House in Fredericton in October.


The Canadian Press